If you’re not familiar with the dietary rules of the holiday, there are many foods that can’t be eaten during the eight days it lasts. Generally, some of the basics that aren’t allowed are bread, rice, wheat, rye, oats, barley, pasta, corn, peas, beans, peanuts, and foods made with these items. Observant Jews do not even keep these items in their homes during the holiday.
So what is allowed? Fruit is always a safe bet, as are potatoes and other root vegetables, leafy greens, nuts, eggs, fish, dairy and meat (although, in accordance with Kosher laws, meat and dairy must be served separately).
Typically, Passover baked goods are dry, heavy and not very appealing because you can’t use flour. A few years ago, I found a recipe for Passover Brownies that my family absolutely loves, so I’ve shared it with you below. (In fact, my kids have been known to ask me to make them at other times during the year!) They are surprisingly moist and really good!